Marshall Cavendish
About Us Submissions Join Our Mailing List Book Search Apps 3ed32e32e3332e Custom publishing E-books
      Browse Catalogue


Title On Air: Untold Stories from Caldecott Hill  
ISBN 9789814841535
Imprint Marshall Cavendish Editions
Specifications 235 x 180mm / 528pp / paperback with flaps
Publication Date Jun-2019
Target Audience General
Price (SGD) SGD 37.38
Link to Related book(s) Write an online review and share your thoughts with other customers
About this Book

This collection of 51 essays contains the rich memories of Singapore’s leading media pioneers at their broadcasting station on Caldecott Hill.

On Air captures the breadth and depth of their experiences over 82 years on the Hill: from the founding in 1936 of the British Malayan Broadcasting Corporation, to Radio and Television Singapore (RTS), to Singapore Broadcasting Corporation (SBC), and finally to what is today, Mediacorp. In this book, the writers have recorded eight decades worth of work and life experiences and have shared precious, untold stories from the Japanese Occupation of Caldecott Hill, to the fascinating behind-the-scenes happenings that cast light on well known and well loved shows.  

In this book, the authors have recorded many decades’ worth of work experiences, including untold stories from the Japanese Occupation of Caldecott Hill, as well as fascinating behind-the-scenes anecdotes from famous and well-loved programmes.

With a foreword by George Yeo and featuring a rare collection of archival photographs, this publication is the first of its kind and provides an insight into the history and development of broadcasting in Singapore.

About the Contributors

To share their life’s work, six pioneers from different departments – Joan Chee, Raymond Anthony Fernando, Mun Chor Seng, Horace Wee and Belinda Yeo and Philip Tay Joo Thong (team lead) – gathered colleagues to pen their memoirs, including:

Mushahid Ali • Asaad Sameer Bagharib • P N Balji • Chan Heng Wing • Cheng Tong Fatt • Anthony Chia • Michael Chiang • Choo Lian Liang • Francis Chowdhurie • David Christie • Amy Chua • Chua Swan • Ee Boon Lee • George Favacho • Sakuntala Gupta • Raymon T H Huang • Suhaimi Jais • Larry Lai • Lau Hing Tung • Lee Kim Tian • Moses Lee • Lucy Leong • Kenneth Liang • Maureen Liew • Loong May Lin • Vernon Martinus • Clement Mesenas • Mock Pak Lum • Vernon Palmer • S P Panneerselvam • Zainab Rahim • Joseph Seah • Paul Seow • Sim Choon Hin • Daisy Irani Subaiah • Param Ajeet Singh Bal • Ujagar Singh Gill • Ernest Wong • Woon Tai Ho • Yeo Kim Pow • Daniel Yun
© Marshall Cavendish 2008-2020   |  Data Protection and Privacy Statement   |  Terms & Conditions   |  Help   |  Contact Us