The Philip Jeyaretnam collection

ISBN 9789814779081

Book E-Book

Philip Jeyaretnam


This collection gathers three of Philip Jeyaretnam’s best-known works—First Loves, Raffles Place Ragtime and Abraham’s Promise. Together, they showcase Jeyaretnam’s technique and accomplishments across a range of forms, subject matter and emotional landscapes. Set in Singapore in the 1960s through the 1980s, the short stories and novels explore themes of identity, materialism, interracial relationships, power and betrayal; foreground the thinkers, dreamers and doers of post-colonial Singapore; and expose the young nation’s frailties, cracks and contradictions.

Philip Jeyaretnam
Philip Jeyaretnam is a familiar face in Singapore’s literary scene. His book First Loves (1987) topped the Sunday Times bestseller list for 18 months, while his next book Raffles Place Ragtime was nominated for the Commonwealth Writers Prize. Philip is also a Senior Counsel and Managing Partner at Rodyk & Davidson LLP.

From The Same Author